Five other countries share their Independence Day with us

15th August is a historical day as fastest growing economy country with second largest population became an independent country. It is a coincidence that there are few other countries who also celebrate there independence day on 15 August.

Besides India, five other countries celebrate their day of independence on August 15. Let’s take a look at them..

Republic of Congo

The Pygmy people were the ancient inhabitants of this land. They were followed by the Bantu Tribes. The Bantus used the river Congo for their trade. In the 15th century, European traders began to use the river and thus began a relationship between the two. When Brazil was discovered, the Portuguese began to transport people from Congo to work in their plantations in Brazil. This caused a depopulating in Congo, leading to riots and attacks from neighbouring states. This culminated in a series of revolts against the Portuguese, leading on to wars which caused the disintegration of Congo and the formation of new states.

Because of industrialisation in Europe there was a demand for African rubber, oil and cotton. The French, Portuguese and British joined hands to conquer territories in Africa and set their rule over the Congo River Basin. The French conquered a major area to the north of the Congo River and gradually brought middle Congo, Chad, Gabun, Obangui-Chari under their jurisdiction with Brazzaville as the capital. Since then Congo’s economic advancement have been restricted to natural resources of rubber, cotton and the newly discovered oil reserves. But,, the labour system was abused and rebellions against the French invaders and once again there were several riots in Brazzaville in 1959.

After September 1958 AEF or French Equatorial Africa was dissolved and the four union territories became a part of the French community, leaving the central part which was then named Congo Republic. It became independent on August 15, 1960. Fulbert Youlou was appointed the first president of the Republic of the Congo.


Korea was under Japanese rule till the end of World War II. After Japan surrendered, Korea gained independence from it. But, it was further divided into North Korea and South Korea.

North Korea was placed under the trusteeship of the Soviet Union with the aim of giving free reign, once the provisional government took a more definite and a permanent form. The political imposition of the Soviet rule in North Korea was met with great resistance, and conflicts and power struggles rose up at the top levels of government. On August 15, 1948, the Soviet forces finally gave up the reins of power to Kim Il-sung and the country was officially named the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea. The country celebrates its Independence Day as Chogukhaebangŭi nal or Liberation of the Fatherland Day.

After the unification of the U.S. controlled region and the Soviet Union controlled region failed, a pro-US government was established on August 15, 1948 in South Korea, officially named as the Republic of Korea. Syngman Rhee was elected first President of South Korea and August 15 was declared a national holiday as Gwangbokjeol (literally translated as “the day the light returned”.


This Middle Eastern island country gained independence from its British colonial rulers on August 15, 1971, after a United Nations survey of the Bahraini population.

The British announced the withdrawal of their troops east of Suez in the early 1960s. Bahrain declared its independence on August 14, 1971, marked by the signing of a friendship treaty with the British that terminated previous agreements between the two sides. However, Bahrain celebrates it National Day on December 16 to coincide with the day that former ruler Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa ascended the throne.


Since 1940, Liechtenstein celebrates its National Day on August 15. It is closely connected to the birthday of Prince Franz-Joseg II which falls on August 16. After his death in 1989, it was decided to continue celebrating the holiday on August 15. Staatsfeiertag is marked with an official ceremony in front of the Vaduz Castle, cultural events, a public fair, festive processions, a firework display and a large party in the centre of Vaduz.

The Principality of Liechtenstein is a microstate in Central Europe. Liechtenstein became a principality within the Holy Roman Empire in 1719. In 1815, it joined the German Confederation that replaced the former Holy Roman Empire. The Confederation dissolved in 1866, and Liechtenstein became an independent state.
Powered by Blogger.